Monday, June 6, 2016

Buried in Books - My New Precioussssess

Because I can't possibly read every single book that finds its way into my home IMMEDIATELY, though I fully intend to die trying, allow me to show off our most recently acquired precioussssess...

For Review

MP Johnson
Bizarro Pulp Press
April 2016

In the first short story collection from Wonderland Book Award-winning author MP Johnson, disgusting little toys become the key to a father regaining his son’s love, a caterpillar crosses dimensions via peoples’ insides, punk rock blaring from a woman’s breast leads to her gruesome self destruction, a grizzled hardcore singer travels through time to save his future child, a drag queen goes to battle against her childhood teddy bear and more. These stories are so shockingly, oozingly awesome, you just have to read ‘em all!

*From Author / Looks awesome

# I'm Zombie: A Zombie Mosaic Novel
Tony Newton
Cosmic Egg Books
May 2016

Accounts from the zombie apocalypse - letters, notes, documents, chatroom and forum fragments from the day a mystery virus is unleashed at an uncontrollable rate. As the virus sweeps the globe, no one is safe from its clutches. With mass hysteria, panic, breakdown of infrastructure, no law in place and very little food and water, how long could you survive? Don't believe all you read online...but it might just save your life if you do! This virus has gone viral!

*From Author/ Looks interesting

The Big Sheep
Robert Kroese
Thomas Dunne Books
June 2016

Los Angeles of 2039 is a baffling and bifurcated place. After the Collapse of 2028, a vast section of LA was disowned by the civil authorities, and became essentially a third world country within the borders of the city. When a valuable genetically altered sheep mysteriously goes missing from Esper Corporation's labs, Keane is the one they call. While Keane and his partner are on the trail of the lost sheep, they land an even bigger case. And as they unravel the threads of the mystery, it soon becomes clear that the two cases are connected - and both point to a sinister conspiracy involving the most powerful people in the city. Kroese's The Big Sheep is perfect for fans of Philip Dick's Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep, Terry Pratchett's Guards! Guards!,and Scalzi's Old Man's War.

*From author / Loved his previous work

Clown Tear Junkies
Douglas Hackles
Rooster Republic Press

Within the whacked-out worlds of these twisted tales, only one thing remains the same: Everything is better when laced with the tears of a clown. When a sexually adventurous couple decides to spice things up by bringing bees into the mix, they learn it’s never wise to dial 811 in case of an emergency. A deadbeat dad gains employment as a lady-in-waiting in a fairytale bromance where every character looks exactly like someone else from John Carpenter’s The Thing. The unknowing victim of a cruel prank, a simpleton spends his entire life waiting on a park bench for the hottest girl in school. Using only his twenty-sided die and good old-fashioned D&D magic, a man must continually resurrect the neighborhood kid regularly murdered on his own front lawn. An aging slaughterhouse worker and the iconic figure from Edvard Munch’s The Scream hit the clubs every weekend in a vain attempt to get laid. These and many more absurdities await in Clown Tear Junkies, the debut collection from Douglas Hackle. 

*Requested / Was recommended to me and sounds delicious

Pretend I'm Your Friend
MB Caschetta
Engine Books
November 2016

A sister’s darkest secret is revealed at her brother’s wedding. A woman with extrasensory visions accidentally gives her philandering husband her blessing. A dying mother wishes her cancer was her daughters’, not hers. Pretend I’m Your Friend lays bare the fear, loss, and pain of love, sex, and family life in eleven crisp, engaging, and startlingly funny, elegantly entwined stories.

*From author / Looks good, I'm a sucker for a strong story collection

World of Warcraft
Daniel Lisi
Boss Fight Books
June 2016

Ten years after its launch, Blizzard Entertainment's World of Warcraft is less a game and more a world unto itself, and it's a world Daniel Lisi knows well. More time in his high school years was spent in Azeroth than in his hometown of Irvine, CA—a home he happened to share with Blizzard itself.
Now that Lisi has founded his own game development studio, WoW remains his most powerful example of just how immersive and consuming a game can be. Based on research, interviews, and the author's own experience in a hardcore raiding guild, Lisi's book examines WoW's origins, the addictive power of its gameplay loop, the romances WoW has both facilitated and shaken, the enabling power of anonymity, and the thrill of conquering BlizzCon with guildmates you've known for years and just met for the first time.

*From Publisher / Non Fiction to stretch my reading comfort zones

Beautiful Ape Girl Baby
Heather Fowler
Pink Narcissus Press
June 2016

A rollicking ride of a magical realist, coming-of-age story that explores sex and gender in ways that will have you laughing out loud. Be prepared to travel light with a somewhat murderous female protagonist en route across the country - where it's so hard to be a strong, violent, little ape girl - looking in all the wrong places for forever kinds of love.

*From Author / Loved her previous collections

No comments:

Post a Comment